Radio & TV Broadcast Competition I Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists selected in the Journalism Awards Program’s Broadcast Features Competition I.

The top winners in the radio broadcast competition, selected from among 46 entries, qualify for the National Broadcast News Championship in June 2011. The top five television winners, selected from 69 entries, along with the top five finalists from the television competition II, which will be held in February, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the Championship, along with the radio, writing and photojournalism finalists.

The top radio finalists, qualifying for the Championship are:

First Place, $2,600 award, WADE HILLIGOSS, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Second Place, $2,000 award, MICHAEL TOMSIC, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,500 award, GARDENIA COLEMAN, Arizona State University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, NATALIE TRIPP, Brigham Young University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, TRENT KELLY, University of Florida

Other winners in radio who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, REEMA KHRAIS, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Seventh Place, JAKE STEVENSON, University of Montana

Eighth Place, MORGAN DEMMEL, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Ninth Place, MIKE COUZENS, Syracuse University

Tenth Place, ERICA MOKAY, West Virginia University

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:

First Place, $2,600 award, MARLEI MARTINEZ, Syracuse University

Second Place, $2,000 award, BRANDI KRUSE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Third Place, $1,500 award, GARRETT TENNEY, Brigham Young University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, ALEX ROZIER, University of Missouri

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, DAN McKINNEY, Temple University

Other winners in television who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, ANDREW MACH, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Seventh Place, SAM BARANOWSKI, Elon University

Eighth Place, NATALIE PODGORSKI, Arizona State University

Ninth Place, PETE MUNTEAN, University of Maryland

Tenth Place, KYLEE GAUNA, Arizona State University

The schools of award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first radio and television competitions. It is followed by: Arizona State University; Syracuse University; Brigham Young University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; University of Missouri; Elon University; University of Montana; University of Maryland. The final winners (the top three of whom will collect $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively) will be named in February following television competition II/news.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Kate O’Brian, Senior Vice President, ABC News, New York, NY; Ursula Reutin, Managing Editor/News Anchor, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio, Seattle, WA; and Fred Young, Former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, Yardley, PA.

The 2010-2011 broadcast news competitions are held in 110 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 51 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. Please check our Web site for the winning work, which is updated shortly after the completion of each competition.

Jan C. Watten, Program Director