2022-23 Hearst Television News Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television News Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 77 entries from 47 schools submitted in the second television competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Julie Koharik, a senior from University of Missouri.
Julie wins a $3,000 award and qualifies for the National Television Championship which will be held in June 2023.

The second-through-fifth place finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, John Perik, Syracuse University *
Third Place, $1,500 award, Cameron Joiner, University of Oklahoma
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Isabella Leahy, Pennsylvania State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Rachel Henderson, University of Missouri

* Sixth Place finalist Aria Pons, Louisiana State University, moves into the semi-final round as John Perik has
already qualified to participate in the Audio Championship.

These finalists along with the top four from the first television competition qualify for a semi-final round where they will submit additional entries. From that competition, four additional finalists will be chosen to compete in the National Television Championship.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh-through-tenth place finalists are:
Seventh Place, certificate, Alexus Cleavenger, University of Florida
Eighth Place, certificate, Alex Almanza, Ball State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Conor McGill, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Finn Carlin, University of Southern California

The University of Missouri School of Journalism has won the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the
highest accumulated student points from the two television and one audio competitions.

They are followed by: Syracuse University; University of Florida; University of Oklahoma; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Hofstra University; University of South Carolina.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. .

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC.

The 63rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. There are 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.