Hearst Spot News Writing Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college Spot News writing have been announced in the 49th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First place has been awarded to KELLY HOUSE, a junior at Michigan State University.  She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her winning article “Cedar Fest a Mess” from The State News. Michigan State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Kelly has qualified to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco this June.

Other scholarship winners are:

KIMBALL  BENNION, University of Montana, second place, $1,500 scholarship

KERRY  KLECIC, University of South Florida, third place, $1,000 scholarship

CARRIE  PORTER, Northwestern University, fourth place, $750 scholarship

KIM  WILMATH, University of Florida, fifth place, $600 scholarship

AUDREY  SPALDING, University of Missouri, sixth place, $500 scholarship

MELANIE  HICKEN, Syracuse University, seventh place, $500 scholarship

SUSAN  ELGIN, University of Iowa, eighth place, $500 scholarship

JOHN  CLAYTON, Syracuse University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

DAVIDMcSWANE, Colorado State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

The University of Kansas won first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the six writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  University of Missouri; Northwestern University; Arizona State University;University of Kentucky; University of Montana; Syracuse University; University of Georgia (tie);University of Illinois (tie); University of Iowa.  The top three winning schools receive $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively as the winners of the Hearst Intercollegiate Writing Competition.

The Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Arthur S. Brisbane, ASB Consulting, East Dennis, MA; Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX; and Peter Bhatia, Executive Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR.

There were 79 students from 46 universities and colleges who participated in the program’s sixth and final writing competition.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan Watten, program director


# # #