Hearst Photojournalism Competition I Winners Named




San Francisco – Ten college photographers have been named finalists in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Entries in the first of three photojournalism competitions were in the categories of portrait/personality, feature and “personal vision.”

The winners were selected from among 81 entries submitted from 47 schools nationwide. The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the next two competitions and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next June.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing and broadcast finalists.

110 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.


The top four finalists are:

First Place, $2,000 award, JAKE  STEVENS,  Western Kentucky University

Second Place, $1,500 award, CHEN  WANG, University of Florida

Third Place, $1,000 award, COURTNEY  DUDLEY,  University of Texas, Austin

Fourth Place, $750 award, TIM  HUSSIN,  University of Florida


The fifth through tenth place winners are:

Fifth Place, $600 award, ED  MATTHEWS,  University of Kentucky

Sixth Place, $500 award, JOHN  HOOK,   University of Missouri

Seventh Place, $500 award, DIJANA  MUMINOVIC, Western Kentucky University

Eighth Place, $500 award, LANE  CHRISTIANSEN,  Southern Illinois University,Carbondale

Ninth Place, $500 award, JASON  JOHNSON, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

Tenth Place, $500 award, BENJAMIN  NORMAN,  New York University


These finalists’ schools receive matching grants.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 49th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes six writing contests, four broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition offering more than $550,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The photojournalism judges are:  Janet Reeves, Senior Editor/Photography and Multimedia, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado; Ken Geiger, Senior Editor,National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Michael C. Norseng, Photo editor,Esquire Magazine, New York, NY.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this first competition in theIntercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of Florida; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; University of Missouri; University of Kentucky; University of Texas, Austin; Central Michigan University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; New York University; Ball State University and University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill are tied in tenth place.  The final Intercollegiate winners are announced after the third photo competition.

To view the top four finalists’ winning work, please check the monthly winners section of our website which is updated shortly after each competition.


#  #  #


Jan Watten