Hearst Editorial Writing Winners Named



The top 10 winners in college Editorial writing have been announced in the 49th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to BETH  RANKIN, a December graduate of Kent State University.  She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her winning article from the Daily Kent Stater.  Kent State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Beth has qualified to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco next June


Other scholarship winners are:

JOSHUA  HILLMAN, Iowa State University, second place, $1,500 scholarship

ANDREW  STILES,  University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, third place, $1,000 scholarship

JONATHAN  XAVIER,  San Jose State University, fourth place, $750 scholarship

SOMMER  INGRAM, Baylor University, fifth place, $600 scholarship

HAILEY  BRANSON, University of Oklahoma, sixth place, $500 scholarship

LINDSEY  ALLGOOD, University of Oklahoma, seventh place, $500 scholarship

PATRICK  LUIZ  SULLIVAN  DE  OLIVEIRA, University of Kansas, eighth place, $500 scholarship

SOPHIE  LYNNE  PRELL, Iowa State University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

CHRISTOPHER  DANZIG, Northwestern University, tenth place, $500 scholarship


University of Kansas received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  San Francisco State University; Iowa State University; Arizona State University; University ofNorth Carolina; University of Oklahoma; Northwestern University; Indiana University; Florida A&M University and University of Montana.  The final winners will be named in April following the final writing competition.

The Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Arthur S. Brisbane, ASB Consulting, East Dennis, MA; Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor,Houston Chronicle, TX; and Peter Bhatia, Executive Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR.

There were 98 students from 54 universities and colleges who participated in the program’s second writing competition of this academic year.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director


# # #