2006 – 2007 Writing Winners

Of the 589 writing entries received in the 2006-2007 competitions, 8 students’ articles qualified them for the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco, where they competed for additional awards. This special event consisted of an on-the-spot assignment and a press interview. The finalists’ stories were judged for accuracy, writing quality, enterprise and innovation.

On Wednesday, June 6th, shortly after arriving in the city, the finalists met with the judges for introductions, orientation, and assignments. This year, the on-the-spot assignment was the 40th anniversary of the “Summer of Love.” The finalists’ press interview took place with members of the Delancey Street Foundation on Friday morning. The final deadline was Friday at 5:00 p.m. by which point the news story from the interview, a personality/profile of Delancey Street’s Director, Dr. Mimi Silbert, and the spot news piece on the “Summer of Love” were due. The judges made their decisions by Saturday afternoon and the winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening.

The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The five finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards were: Tatiana Hensley from Arizona State University, Stefanie M. Loh from University of Oregon, Amy May from University of Montana, Curtis J. Moore from University of Kansas, and Francis D. Tankard from University of Kansas. Two additional awards of $1,000 each were given to Francis D. Tankard for Article of the Year and Stefanie M. Loh for Best Reporting Technique for their articles submitted in the monthly competitions.