2006 – 2007 Television Broadcast News Winners

Of the 109 entries received in the two television competitions during the academic year, 10 students’ work qualified them for the semi-final round of judging. From that round, 5 television finalists were selected to participate in the National Broadcast News Championship in San Francisco.

The finalists arrived in San Francisco on Wednesday, June 7th and that evening they met with the broadcast judges to receive their assignment. This year the television finalists’ assignment was the 40th anniversary of the “Summer of Love.” The package was to include a lead-in, a tag, and suggested graphics for each story, appropriate for a Northern California television station’s first evening newscast. The story was to have a hard news angle, to include at least one reporter on-camera stand-up, and to range from one to two and a half minutes.

The judges received the completed tapes and scripts by Saturday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony Saturday evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are:McKenzie L. Combs from Western Kentucky University and Ryan Famuliner from University of Missouri. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Elias Johnson for Best use of Television for News Coverage.