2022-23 Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Personality/Profile Writing Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 114 entries fro 67 schools submitted in the fourth writing competition of this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Lauren Ulrich, a senior from the Indiana University. Lauren receives a $3,000 scholarship for the article “She dreams of Afghanistan: The life she built was lost to the Taliban. Now, she’s working to create a world where she can go home.” published in Idsnews.com. Lauren also qualifies for the National Writing Championship in June 2023.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Anna Guber, University of Florida
Third Place, $1,500 award, Austin Hanson, University of Iowa
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Steban Rondon, Florida International University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ellie Sandlin, Western Kentucky University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Caleb Bozard, University of South Carolina
Seventh Place, certificate, Kaitlyn Schmidt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Eighth Place, certificate, Jillian Wesner, Pennsylvania State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Chloe Peterson, University of Iowa
Tenth Place, certificate, Tory Basile, Indiana University

Pennsylvania State University is in lead with first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the fourth of five writing competitions held this year.

They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Indiana University; University of Florida; University of Montana; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of Iowa; Ball State University; Syracuse University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May. The awards will be presented during the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation during the National Championships in June.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Executive Editor, The Houston Chronicle; Sue Campbell, Editorial Director, AME/Features, Star Tribune Magazine; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 63rd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

# # #