2020 Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the ten college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 60th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The 2020 Hearst photo semi-finalists are top winners selected from the two 2019-2020 photo competitions held this academic year.

The ten semi-finalists are:
Nathaniel Bailey, Kent State University
Sara Diggins, University of Montana
Kenneth Ferriera, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Haley France, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sylvia Jarrus, Michigan State University
Nicole Neri, Arizona State University
Tristen Rouse, University of Missouri
Lily Thompson, Western Kentucky University
Matthew Westmoreland, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Katina Zentz, University of Iowa

Nic Antaya, from Michigan State University and Michael Swensen, from Ohio University are the two first-place winners from the competitions, and automatically qualify for the National Photojournalism Championship.

The semi-finalists, whose work was selected from a record 227 entries received in the News/Features and Picture Story/Series Competitions, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging. The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select four finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship.

Due to the current situation with the COVID-19 outbreak, the National Championship has been cancelled as an in-person event. In its place, we are strategizing to develop an alternative experience for the qualifying photo
finalists, as well as for the eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists. All finalists will be competing for scholarship awards of up to $10,000 in each category.

The photojournalism judges are Carolyn Cole, Foreign National Photo Correspondent, The Los Angeles Times, CA; Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA; Luis Rios, Director of Photography, San Antonio Express-News, TX.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The Program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970 – making this the 50th anniversary of the photo category.

The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.