2020-21 Hearst Television News Winners Announced

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college Television News have been announced in the 61st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.The winners were selected from 77 entries submitted from 48 schools nationwide in the second television competition of this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Katelyn Keenehan, a senior from Arizona State University. Katelyn wins a $3,000 scholarship and automatically qualifies for the National Television Championship, which will be held in June 2021.

The second through fifth-place finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Tyler Manion, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Joseline Donoso, University of Florida
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Chris O’Brien, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Alyssa Jackson, University of Missouri

These finalists, along with the four finalists from the first television competition, qualify to participate in a semi-final round. From that semi-final round, four finalists will be selected to compete in the National Championships, along with the two first place winners in TV and the writing, audio, television and multimedia finalists.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth-place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Sam Britten, Michigan State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Ian Gilmour, Michigan State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Addison Albert, Pennsylvania State University
Ninth Place, certificate, John Webb, University of Idaho
Tenth Place, certificate, Ward Jolles, University of South Carolina

The University of Florida has won the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated
student points from the radio and two television competitions held this year.

It is followed by: Arizona State University; Michigan State University; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; University of Texas, Austin; Kent State University (tie); Pennsylvania State University (tie); Murray State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television, NY; Holly Quan,
Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio, CA; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensem & Rovitto LLC, PA.

The 61st annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. 103 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass
Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.