2019-20 Hearst Television I Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in Television Features Competition were announced today in the 60th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism
programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

The winners were selected from 105 entries submitted from 66 schools nationwide.

First Place has been awarded to Cambria Haro from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Cambria wins a $3,000 scholarship and automatically qualifies for the National Broadcast Championship.

The top ten finalists and their awards are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Dominic Torres, California State University, Fullerton
Third Place, $1,500 award, Christopher Jacobs, Brigham Young University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jing Feng, New York University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Sarah Poteracki, West Virginia University
Sixth Place, certificate, Megan Cole, Middle Tennessee State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Scotty Gange, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Griffin Stroin, Michigan State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Bria Bolden, University of Texas at Austin
Tenth Place, certificate, Caleb Suggs, University of Memphis

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.
The four finalists in bold qualify for the semi-final round. The remaining finalist in the top five graduated in spring 2019, and per program guidelines, may not participate in the semi-finals.

The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists in the next television competition will
submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Four finalists will be chosen from that round to
compete in the National Championships, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists.

Arizona State University is in first place in the Intercollegiate broadcast Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the first of three broadcast competitions.

It is followed by: Syracuse University; Brigham Young University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; California State University, Fullerton; New York University; West Virginia University;
University of Colorado; Middle Tennessee State University.

The final intercollegiate broadcast winners are announced after the completion of the radio competition and the second television competition.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. Awards will be presented
during the National Championships in Houston, TX at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation.

The television judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, CA; Candy Altman, retired Vice President News, Hearst Television, NY; and Mary Lynn Roper, retired President and General Manager, KOAT-TV, NM.

The 60th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988.
The program also includes five writing, one radio, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

104 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited
undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2019-20 Hearst Television I Winners Named”

  1. Pingback: “Best of the best” | Media, disrupted

Comments are closed.