2019-20 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the
60th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.
156 feature writing entries were received in this competition from 86 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Hannah Denham, a senior from Washington & Lee University. Hannah receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “A Texas-size mart’s road to fame” published in the Washingtonpost.com.

Hannah also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in Houston, TX.

Washington & Lee University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism
departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:
Jack Harris, Arizona State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Mary Glen Hatcher, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Claire Miller, Syracuse University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Margaret High, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth-through-tenth-place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Jillian Atelsek, University of Maryland, sixth place
Alexis Alabado, Arizona State University, seventh place
Samantha Berlin, Syracuse University, eighth place
Kate Robbins, University of Missouri, ninth place
Naomi McGee, Savannah State University, tenth place

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first writing competition of the year. They are followed by: Arizona State University; Syracuse University; Washington & Lee University; University of Missouri; University of Maryland; Savannah State University; University of Georgia; University of Texas at Austin; Ohio University.

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.