2019-20 Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 60th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

There were 133 entries from 73 schools received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Sasha Urban, a junior from University of Southern California. Sasha receives a $3,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “48 male patients say campus doctor sexually abused them — and USC was warned” published in uscannenbergmedia.com.

Sasha also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship, which will be held this June in Houston, Texas.

University of Southern California’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:
Second Place, $2,000 scholarship: Lindsey Boyd, San Jose State University

Third Place, $1,500 scholarship: Lurissa Carbajal, Arizona State University

Fourth Place, $1,000 scholarship: Melissa Frick, Central Michigan University

Fifth Place, $1,000 scholarship: Ethan Millman, Arizona State University

The sixth-through-tenth-place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Sixth Place: Michael Tobin, University of Oregon

Seventh Place: Nicole Asbury, University of Kansas

Eighth Place: Molly Horak, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ninth Place: Austin Peay, University of Southern California

Tenth Place: Christine Condon, University of Maryland

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today.

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two writing competitions held so far. They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Southern California; Syracuse University; Central Michigan University; University of Maryland (tie); San Jose State University (tie); University of Kansas; Washington & Lee University; University of Oregon.

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions. The awards will be presented in June at the National Championships. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively,

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.