2017-18 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 58th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 154 feature writing entries were received in this competition from 82 schools.

First Place has been awarded to MARCELLA MERCER, a senior from University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Marcella receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “Fathers and Sons” published in the Newsnetnebraska.com. Here is the link to her story: http://projects.newsnetnebraska.org/fathers-and-sons/. University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Marcella also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Jack Evans, Indiana University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Catherine Cardenas, University of Texas at Austin, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Samantha Lauriello, Pennsylvania State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship www.thelionsroaratpsu.org/home/beautiful-in-the-early-morning-light/

Sarah Verschoor, Indiana University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

Satoshi Sugiyama, Syracuse University, sixth place

Adam Rogan, Drake University, seventh place

Julie Christie, Temple University, eighth place

Jacob Dick, Western Kentucky University, ninth place

Emily Kohlman, Pennsylvania State University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first writing competition of the year. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Texas at Austin (tie); Western Kentucky University (tie); Drake University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Temple University; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA, and Wendell Jamieson, Metro Editor, The New York Times.