2022-23 Writing

2023 Writing Championship

From the 607 writing entries received in the 2022-2023 writing competitions, the following finalists’ competition articles qualified them for the Hearst National Writing
Championship, where they competed for additional scholarship awards.

On Saturday June 3, shortly after arriving in San Francisco, the finalists met with the judges for orientation and assignments. This year, the finalists were asked to write two articles: a news story from an interview with Dr. Condoleeza Rice, and an article about Bay Area ferries.

The judges received the articles Tuesday evening, and the winners were announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday.

The first-through-third place winners were awarded scholarships of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000 respectively. The five finalists earned $1,500 scholarship awards.

Two finalists were awarded additional $1,000 awards for Article of the Year and Best Reporting Technique for pieces submitted in the monthly competitions.

The winners and finalists are featured below.


Anna Guber
First Place
University of Florida
$10,000 scholarship


Katie Delk
University of Florida
$1,500 scholarship

Additional Awards

Eli Hoff
Article of the Year
University of Missouri
$1,000 scholarship