2018-19 Television

2019 Television Championship

This year, 183 entries were submitted in the Features and News television competitions. The first-place winners of those competitions qualified for the Championship. In addition, eight top finalists from those competitions submitted additional work for a semi-final round of judging. From that round, three additional finalists were selected to participate in the Hearst National Television Championship in San Francisco.

At the Championship, the television finalists were assigned a story illustrating the Bay Area’s concern and response to global warming.

The story was to have a news angle, to include at least one reporter on-camera stand-up, and to range from one-to-two minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Wednesday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening.

The first-through-third place winners were awarded scholarships of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000 respectively.

The two finalists earned $1,500 scholarships each.

An additional $1,000 award for Best Use of Television for News Coverage was selected from the semi-final competition submissions.

The winners and finalists are featured below.


View Story
David J. Jones
First Place
University of Florida
$10,000 scholarship


View Story
Meredith Sheldon
University of Florida
$1,500 scholarship

Additional Award

View Story
Bryce Newberry
Best Use of Television for News Coverage
Arizona State University
$1,000 scholarship