2010 – 2011 Photojournalism Winners

From a record 220 entries received in the three photojournalism competitions this year, 14 top entrants qualified for the semi-final round of judging. For this round, the semi-finalists submitted digital portfolios which included portraits, features, sports shots, news pieces and a picture story. After much deliberation, the program judges selected six finalists to attend the Hearst National Photojournalism Championship in San Francisco.

Monday, June 6th, shortly after arriving in the city, the photo finalists met the judges for orientation, portfolio review and to receive their assignments. This year’s assignment was to do a photo story about a character from one of the city’s many cultures and/or subcultures.  The photo finalists were also assigned a single “personal vision” image. They had two days to shoot and edit their photos before their Wednesday deadline of 5 p.m.  Thursday morning, the judges reviewed the submissions, selected their top choices and announced the winners at that evening’s awards ceremony.

The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The three finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are:  Bryan Anselm from Western Kentucky University, Ross Bowman Brinkerhoff from Ohio University, and Ty Cacek from Western Kentucky University. Two additional awards of $1,000 were given to Carly Brantmeyer for Best Single Photograph and Ty Cacek for Best Portfolio, selected from their monthly and semi-final portfolios.