2020-21 Multimedia

2021 Multimedia Championship

This marked the tenth anniversary of the Hearst National Multimedia Championship.

From the 215 entries received in the Narrative Video Storytelling, Innovative Storytelling, and Digital news or Enterprise Multimedia competitions, five winners’ stories qualified them for the Championship.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Championship was held virtually once again.

The judges Danese Kenon, Jarrad Henderson and Meredith Hogan met the finalists via Zoom for mentorship, a critique of their qualifying pieces and to review the Championship assignment. The finalists then produced their stories from home.

The assignment: “2021 has seen the beginning stages of re-emergence.  Our chambers echoed with chants of accountability, reanimation of social and cultural life but are still stained with grief and loss. Tell us a story about re-emergence in your community.”

The first-through-third place winners were awarded scholarships of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000 respectively.

The finalists earned a $1,500 scholarship.

An additional $1,000 Multimedia Story of the Year Award was selected from the monthly competition entries.

The winners and finalists are featured below.


Hope Davison
First Place
University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill
$10,000 scholarship


Sam Mallon
Western Kentucky University
$1,500 scholarship

Additional Award

Hope Davison
Multimedia Story of the Year
University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill
$1,000 scholarship