2012 – 2013 Multimedia Winners

This was the third year of the multimedia Championship. From the 199 multimedia entries received in the four monthly competitions, five top winners qualified for the Championship in San Francisco.

The finalists arrived in the city on Monday, June 3rd and immediately met with their judges to receive their assignment. They were asked to produce a 3-5 minute multimedia piece which addressed the following question: what is the real San Francisco?

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Kathryn Carlson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Savannah Smith, Pennsylvania State University. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Julia Wall, for Story of the Year selected from the monthly competition submissions.