2019 Hearst National Championship Finalists Selected


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the 29 journalism students from across the country who will compete in the 59th annual National Writing, Photojournalism, Radio, Television and Multimedia Championships held in San Francisco, June 1 – June 6, 2019.

The finalists include eight writing finalists, six photojournalism finalists, five radio finalists, five television finalists and five multimedia finalists chosen from the monthly competitions, selected from a record 1,351 entries received this year. At the Championships, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments chosen by our judges, competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $10,000.

The 2019 National Championship Finalists:

Caroline Anders, Indiana University
James Crabtree-Hannigan, University of Maryland
Laurel Demkovich, Indiana University
Lydia Gerike, Indiana University
Jack Harris, Arizona State University
Eduardo Medina, Auburn University
Michael Tobin, University of Oregon
Sarah Verschoor, Indiana University

Alex Kormann, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Liz Moughon, Ohio University
Nicole Neri, Arizona State University
Josephine Norris, Central Michigan University
Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
James Wooldridge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Megan Cain, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Dolores Hinckley, University of Florida
Brighton McConnell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Aviva Okerson-Haberman, University of Missouri
Austin Westfall, Arizona State University

David Jones, University of Florida
Grace King, University of Florida
Matt Lively, Arizona State University
Bryce Newberry, Arizona State University
Meredith Sheldon, University of Florida

Skyler Ballard, Western Kentucky University
Mackenzie Behm, University of Florida
Abby Cantrell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Darian Murphy Woehr, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kathryn Ziesig, Western Kentucky University

Presently, 104 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Funded and administered for 59 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.