2018-19 Hearst Breaking News Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college breaking news writing are announced in the 59th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 93 entries from 55 schools received in the
final writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Caroline Anders, a sophomore from Indiana University.
Caroline receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “Barge resigns as Monroe County
commissioner amid harassment accusations” published in Idsnews.com.

Caroline has also qualified to participate in the National Writing Championship held in San Francisco this June.

The journalism departments of all scholarship winners receive matching grants.

Second-to-tenth place winners:

Leah Brennan, University of Maryland, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Brian Muñoz, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, third place, $1,500 scholarship
James Crabtree-Hannigan, University of Maryland, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Sarah Price, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
Anton Delgado, Elon University, sixth place, certificate of merit
Megan Menchaca, University of Texas at Austin, seventh place, certificate of merit
Kal Weinstein, Virginia Commonwealth University, eighth place, certificate of merit
Tea Kvetenadze, New York University, ninth place, certificate of merit
Nick Hazelrigg, University of Oklahoma, tenth place, certificate of merit

Indiana University has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the five writing competitions of the year.

They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; University of Maryland; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Oregon; University of Oklahoma; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; Michigan State University; University of Kentucky (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie).

The top three winning schools earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively which will be presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation this June in San Francisco. The top ten schools earn Hearst trophies.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and David Zeeck, former President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.