2007 – 2008 Television Broadcast News Winners

Of the 119 entries received in the Features and News television competitions during the academic year, 10 students’ work qualified them for the semi-final round of judging. From that round, 5 television finalists were selected to participate in the National Broadcast News Championship in San Francisco.

The finalists arrived in San Francisco on Monday, June 2nd and that evening they met with the broadcast judge to receive their assignment. This year the radio finalists’ spot assignment was the economic downturn and its effect on restaurants, farmers’ markets and the average person.

The package was to include a lead-in, a tag, and suggested graphics for each story, appropriate for a Northern California television station’s first evening newscast. The story was to have a hard news angle, to include at least one reporter on-camera stand-up, and to range from one to two and a half minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Bonnie Boltfrom Arizona State University and G. Aaron Patterson from Pennsylvania State University. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Adam Miller for Best use of Television for News Coverage selected from the semi-final entries.