2011 – 2012 Radio Broadcast News Winners

This year, one radio competition was held in the features category. The top winners from those 49 entrants qualified to participate in the Hearst National Radio Broadcast News Championship in San Francisco.

The five finalists arrived in San Francisco on June 4th, and that evening they met with the broadcast judges to receive their assignment. They were asked to produce a story about the role of technology in tracking residents’ activities and the related privacy concerns.

The finalists’ radio packages were to include an anchor lead-in, a recorded wrap and a completed script to be presented as a piece for a San Francisco radio network’s morning drive segment. The judges expected to receive a news piece, ranging between one to two minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Heather Aronno, University of Alaska, Anchorage and Stephen Tanner from Brigham Young University. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Heather Aronno for Best use of Radio for News Coverage selected from the monthly competition submissions.