2017 Hearst Photojournalism and Television Championship Qualifiers Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the six photojournalism finalists and the five television finalists who have qualified to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards National Championships.

The 57th annual Hearst Championships will be held in San Francisco May 29-June 2, 2017. During this special event, these finalists, along with finalists in writing, radio and multimedia – all winners of the Program’s monthly competitions – will complete spot assignments, vying for scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The photojournalism finalists whose work was selected from 197 entries received nationwide are:

Alex Driehaus, Ohio University
Harrison Hill, Western Kentucky University
Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Mac Snyder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The television finalists whose work was selected from 221 entries received nationwide are:

Adriana De Alba, Arizona State University
Jesse Kirsch, Northwestern University
Maggie Lorenz, University of Florida
Brad Streicher, University of Southern California
Cole Sullivan, University of Southern California

The photojournalism judges are: Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News, TX; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News, CA.

The broadcast judges are: Harvey Nagler, recently retired Vice President, Radio, CBS News, NY; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., PA.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Journalism Awards Program is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.