2019-20 Hearst Television News Competition II Winners Named

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in Television News have been announced in the 60th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. The winners were selected from 74 entries submitted from 45 schools nationwide in the second and final TV competition held this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Payton Tysinger, a rising senior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Payton wins a $3,000 scholarship and automatically qualifies for the Hearst Journalism Awards National Television Championship.

The remaining top ten finalists and their awards are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Dylan McKim, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Omeed Malek, Indiana University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Valerie Lyons, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Spencer Humphrey, University of Missouri
Sixth Place, certificate, Ethan Stein, University of Missouri
Seventh Place, certificate, Lily Cummings, Loyola University New Orleans
Eighth Place, certificate, Jiovanni Lieggi, Kent State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Jilly Kuehn, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Tenth Place, certificate, Sabrina Maggiore, Syracuse University

The top-five winning schools receive matching grants.

The four following finalists qualify for the semi-final round:
Dylan McKim, Arizona State University: Valerie Lyons, University of Florida: Spencer Humphrey,
University of Missouri; Ethan Stein, University of Missouri.

Omeed Malek, Indiana University, graduated in spring 2019, and per program guidelines, may not participate in the semi-finals.

The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists in the TV I Competition will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the National Championships, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the in-person National Championships in Houston will not be held, and alternative possibilities are being evaluated.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has won the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two television and one radio competitions.

It is followed by: Arizona State University; University of Florida; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; Pennsylvania State University; Kent State University; University of Colorado; University of Kansas; Michigan State University.

The top-three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

This competition was judged by: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, CA; Candy Altman, retired Vice President News, Hearst Television, NY; Mary Lynn Roper, retired President and General Manager, KOAT-TV, NM; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television, Yardley, PA.

The 60th Annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship Finals in all divisions. The program added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988.