Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 54th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  A record 111 entries from 60 schools were received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Anastasia Orso, a senior from Pennsylvania State University.  Anna will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Yes – and often no – men” published in The Lion’s Roar.  Penn State University’s College of Communications will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Anna also qualifies for the National Writing Championship this June in Washington, DC.

Other scholarship winners are:

Stephen Pianovich, Pennsylvania State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Michael Majchrowicz, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Zachary Abolverdi, University of Florida, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Faiz Siddiqui, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

Justin Lee, Auburn University, sixth place

Matthew Glowicki, Indiana University, seventh place

Brendan Meyer, University of Missouri, eighth place

Sean Hammond, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, ninth place

Johnathan Hettinger, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, tenth place

Indiana University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first three writing competitions.  They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; University of Florida; Northwestern University; University of Missouri; Arizona State University; University of Oregon; University of Montana; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The final winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions. The top three intercollegiate winners will win $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and John Temple, Senior Fellow, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships Program, Stanford University, CA.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, Program Director