Hearst Sports Writing Competition Winners

The top 20 winners in college Sports Writing have been announced in the 46th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which accredited undergraduate departments of journalism from over 100 colleges and universities across the nation participate.

The first place winner is BEN ROBERTS, from the University of Kentucky. Ben will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his story from The Kentucky Kernel titled “A Disputed Legacy.” University of Kentucky will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Ben graduated in the spring of 2005, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the championship round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the second place winner, TEDDY KIDER, from Northwestern University, will receive a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Writing Championship in June, 2006.

Other scholarship winners are:
ADAM KILGORE, Syracuse University, third place, $1,000 scholarship
MICHAEL BECKER, Syracuse University, fourth place, $750 scholarship
MICHAEL BRUNTZ, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifth place, $600 scholarship
RYAN COLAIANNI, University of Kansas, sixth place, $500 scholarship
MICHAEL DWYER, Texas Christian University, seventh place, $500 scholarship
RACHELLE SANTORO, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship
MATT WILSON, University of Kansas, ninth place, $500 scholarship
TOM KELLER, Michigan State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

University of Kansas is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first four (out of six) writing competitions. It is followed by: Arizona State University; Syracuse University; Northwestern University; University of Kentucky; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; University of Montana; Michigan State University; Texas Christian University. The final winners will be named in April following the last competition of this academic year.

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, two radio and two television broadcast news competitions, with championship finals in all divisions.

Currently, more than 100 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the United States are eligible to participate in the program, which awards over $400,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Alex Martin, Deputy Marketplace Editor, The Wall Street Journal, New York, NY; Pat Andrews, Broward City Editor, The Herald, Pembroke Pines, FL; and Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:
ANGELA BUSCH, University of Missouri, eleventh place
RICK NEWKIRK, Indiana University, twelfth place
PATRICK DORSEY, Northwestern University, thirteenth place
BENJAMIN MALCOLMSON, University of Southern California, fourteenth place
ANGIE WALLACE, Brigham Young University, fifteenth place
JONATHAN HILLYARD, University of South Carolina, sixteenth place
DUGAN ARNETT, University of Missouri, seventeenth place-tie
DANIEL FORD, University of Memphis, seventeenth place-tie
ROBERT CARLI, University of South Carolina, nineteenth place-tie
BETH COCHRAN, Arizona State University, nineteenth place-tie
JAMES SCHMEHL, Arizona State University, nineteenth place-tie

There were 72 students from 43 universities and colleges who participated in the program’s Sports Writing Competition.




Jan C. Watten
415-543-6033, ext. 308