Hearst Radio News and Features Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the broadcast finalists selected in the 55th  annual Journalism Awards Program’s Radio News & Features Competition.

The top winners in the radio broadcast competition, selected from among a record 58 entries from 35 schools, qualify for the National Broadcast News Championship.  The radio finalists will participate in the National Championships along with the TV, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists in San Francisco in June 2015.

The top radio finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Charles J. Shelton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Second Place, $2,000 award, Logan Heley, University of Southern California

Third Place, $1,500 award, Parth Shah, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Madelyn Beck, University of Montana

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, James Torrez, University of Florida

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth-through-tenth place finalists receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, Erin Winters, Howard University

Seventh Place, Abbie Newton, Michigan State University

Eighth Place, Hayley Thornton, University of Oklahoma

Ninth Place, Daniel Wheaton, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Tenth Place, Hope Kirwan, University of Missouri

The judges, all broadcast professionals, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President of Broadcasting,Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Harvey Nagler, Vice President, Radio, CBS News,New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc.,Yardley, PA.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first radio and television competitions.  It is followed by: University of Southern California; Syracuse University; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of Oklahoma; Brigham Young University; University of Florida; Michigan State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  The final winners (the top three of whom will collect $10,000, $4,000, and $2,000 respectively) will be named in April following television competition II/news.

The 55th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.


Contact:  Jan C. Watten, Program Director