Hearst Photojournalism Competition I Winners Named



San Francisco – Five college photographers have been named winners in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the first of two photo competitions were in the categories of news and features.

The winners were selected from among 90 entries submitted from 51 schools nationwide.  The top five winners, along with the top five finalists in the next competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next May.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.

106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The top five semi-finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, BRYNN  ANDERSON, Western Kentucky University

Second Place, $2,000 award, JOEL  HAWKSLEY, Ohio University

Third Place, $1,500 award, CHRISTIAN  RANDOLPH, Western Kentucky University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, JAKE  MAY, Central Michigan University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, ASHLEY  MILLER, Central Michigan University

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, PATRICK  BREEN, University of Nebraska

Seventh Place, certificate, HANNAH  POTES, Kent State University

Eighth Place, certificate, ELIJAH  NOUVELAGE, San Francisco State University

Ninth Place, certificate, ANDREW  COLWELL, Pennsylvania State University

Tenth Place, certificate, ANDREW  DICKINSON, University of Nebraska

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 52nd year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes five writing contests, three broadcast news competitions, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; and Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points. It is followed by: Ohio University; Central Michigan University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State University; Pennsylvania State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; San Francisco State University; University of Southern Illinois, Carbondale; and Kansas State University.  The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April.  To view the top finalists’ winning work, view the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan Watten, program director


#  #  #