Hearst Photo Portrait/Personality & Feature

Twenty college photographers have been named finalists in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the first of three photojournalism competitions were in the categories of portrait/personality and feature.

The winners were selected from among 74 entries submitted from 43 journalism schools nationwide. The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the next two competitions, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next May. Following that round of judging, six finalists will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship in San Francisco, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions. The Championship takes place in June, 2006.

The annual photojournalism competitions are held in more than 100 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The top five finalists are:
First Place, $2,000 award, CHRIS DETRICK, University of Missouri
Second Place, $1,500 award, DEAN KNUTH, University of Arizona
Third Place, $1,000 award, JACOB PRITCHARD, University of Colorado
Fourth Place, $750 award, DANNY GHITIS, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $600 award, ALLEN BRYANT, Western Kentucky University

The first place winner, Chris Detrick is a Spring 2005 graduate, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the championship round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the second through fifth place winners will submit additional entries for the semi-final judging.

The sixth through tenth place winners are:
Sixth Place, $500 award, CHRISTIAN HANSEN, Western Kentucky University
Seventh Place, $500 award, DAVE WEATHERWAX, Michigan State University
Eighth Place, $500 award, MATT NAGER, University of Colorado
Ninth Place, $500 award, MARK MULLIGAN, University of Texas, Austin
Tenth Place, $500 award, DAVID CALVERT, University of Nevada, Reno

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive award certificates are:
J. CARSON DAY, California State University, Fullerton, eleventh place
NICK LOOMIS, University of Iowa, twelfth place
BRIAN LEHMANN, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, thirteenth place
SAMKIT SHAH, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, fourteenth place
JULIA ROBINSON, San Francisco State University, fifteenth place
KRISTOPHER KOLDEN, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, sixteenth place-tie
LANE CHRISTIANSEN, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, sixteenth place-tie
ELIZABETH BAILEY, Ball State University, eighteenth place-tie
JESSICA CROSSFIELD, University of Florida, eighteenth place-tie
RAY M. JONES, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, twentieth place-tie
ANTHONY SOUFFLE, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, twentieth place-tie

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 46th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970. The program also includes six writing contests and four broadcast news competitions, offering more than $400,000 in scholarships to undergraduate journalism majors with matching grants to their respective schools.

The photojournalism judges are: Kirk D. McKoy, Senior Photo Editor, Los Angeles Times, California; Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, New Jersey; and Leslie A. White, Photo Assignments Editor, The Dallas Morning News, Texas.

The University of Colorado placed first in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first of three photo competitions. It is followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; University of Florida; University of Arizona; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Michigan State University; University of Texas, Austin, University of Nevada-Reno; and University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.




Jan Watten
415.543.6033, ext. 308