Hearst Photo I Competition Winners Named



San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Entries in the first of two photo competitions were in the categories of news and features.

The winners were selected from a record 102 entries submitted from 57 schools nationwide.  The top winners, along with the top finalists in the next competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next May.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.

106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Grant Hindsley, University of Missouri

Second Place, $2,000 award, Jabin Botsford, Western Kentucky University

Third Place, $1,500 award, Susannah Kay, Ohio University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Anna Reed, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Chloe Elmer, Pennsylvania State University*

Sixth Place, certificate, Adam Wolffbrandt, Western Kentucky University

*As a spring 2012 graduate, Chloe Elmer is not eligible to participate in the semi-final competition.

The seventh through tenth place finalists are:

Seventh Place, certificate, Aaron Lavinsky, Arizona State University

Eighth Place, certificate, Michael Ciaglo, University of Oregon

Ninth Place, certificate, Samuel Gause, University of Missouri

Tenth Place, certificate, Elizabeth Hamilton, University of Florida

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 53rd year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes five writing contests, three broadcast competitions, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA.

The University of Missouri is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: Western Kentucky University; Ohio University; Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State; University of Florida; Iowa State University; University of Oregon.  The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top finalists’ work, visit the monthly winners’ section of the web site.


Jan Watten, program director

#  #  #