Hearst Photo Competition III Winners Named



San Francisco – Ten college photographers have been named finalists in the Picture Story/Series–Multimedia Competition of the 2009-2010 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. This was the third and final photojournalism competition of the academic year.

The winners were selected from among 52 entries submitted from 29 schools nationwide. Four finalists, along with the top four finalists in the other two photo competitions and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing and broadcast finalists.

There are 110 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs that are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The top ten finalists are:

First Place, $2,000 award, JOY LEWIS, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $1,500 award, LANCE BOOTH, Western Kentucky University
Third Place, $1,000 award, ARKASHA STEVENSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $750 award, SHANE T. MCMILLAN, University of Montana
Fifth Place, $600 award, RUSSEL A. DANIELS, University of Montana
Sixth Place, $500 award, TESSA BARGAINNIER, Kent State University
Seventh Place, $500 award, KASIA BROUSSALIAN, University of Colorado
Eighth Place, $500 award, JESSEY DEARING University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, $500 award, JEREMIAH STANLEY, University of Florida
Tenth Place, $500 award, BEN ADDONIZIO, Syracuse University

Lance Booth, Arkasha Stevenson, Shane McMillan and Tessa Bargainnier qualify for the semi-final round. Joy Lewis and Russel Daniels are May 2009 graduates, and as such, ineligible to participate in the next round per the competition guidelines.

The top ten finalists’ journalism schools receive matching grants.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 50th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970. The program also includes six writing contests, four broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition offering more than $550,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The photojournalism judges are: Ken Geiger, Senior Editor, Technology/Illustrations, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Editor, Esquire Magazine, New York, NY; Geri Migielicz, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA.

Western Kentucky University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the three photo competitions. It is followed by: Ohio University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Central Michigan University; University of Florida; University of Kentucky; University of Montana; University of Colorado; University of Missouri; Syracuse University. The top three winning schools receive $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively as the winners of the Hearst Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition.


Jan C. Watten, program director

# # #