Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college personality/profile writing have been announced in the 50th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to ROMAN  STUBBS, a junior from the University of Montana.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article, “Gladiator School” from The MontanaKaimin.  The University of Montana will receive a matching grant, as do the journalismdepartments of all scholarship winners.  Roman has qualified to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship in New York City this June.

Other scholarship winners are:

ROBERT  MAYS, University of Missouri, second place, $1,500 scholarship

CAITLIN  JOHNSTON, Indiana University, third place, $1,000 scholarship

ALLISON  GATLIN, Arizona State University, fourth place, $750 scholarship

BRITTANY  SHAMMAS, Michigan State University, fifth place, $600 scholarship

JORDAN  P.  HICKEY, University of Missouri, sixth place, $500 scholarship

LISA  GARTNER, Northwestern University, seventh place, $500 scholarship

JOHNNY  HART, Colorado State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

MAGGIE  McMAHON, Drake University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

ERIN  STRECKER, Drake University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

Indiana University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first five writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  Northwestern University; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; Universityof Oregon; University of Montana; University of Kentucky; University of Georgia; University of Kansas University of Iowa.  The final winners will be named in April following the spot news writing competition.

The Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor,Houston Chronicle, TX;  Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

115 students from 67 universities participated in the personality/profile writing competition.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the Web site.


Jan Watten, program director


#  #  #