Hearst Multimedia II Winners Named


San Francisco – The winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was News.  45 entries from 27 schools were submitted in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Adam Wolffbrandt, as senior from Western Kentucky University.

Adam will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning multimedia piece titled “Connected” from WKU Photojounalism.com.  Western Kentucky University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Adam also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Championship this June in Washington, DC.

Other multimedia scholarship winners are:

Second Place, $2,000 award, Eric Shea, Western Kentucky University

Third Place, $1,500 award, Brianna Soukup, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Carolyn Van Houten, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fifth Place, $1,000 award,  Erin O’Connor, Arizona State University

Sixth Place, certificate, Karla Towle, University of North Carolina At Chapel Hill

Seventh Place, certificate, Dave Cole, Pennsylvania State University

Eighth Place, certificate, Gavin McIntyre, San Francisco State University

Ninth Place, certificate, Luke Rafferty, Syracuse University

Tenth Place, certificate, Uhno Yi, University of Missouri

The 54th annual Journalism Awards Program includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio competition, two television competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions.  The program offers up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer for digital news, The Washington Post, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, NY.

Western Kentucky University is in first place after this second competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Missouri; Arizona State University; San Francisco State University; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; Iowa State University; University of Montana. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced in April following the last multimedia competition.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

To view the winners’ work, please check the monthly winners section of our website: www.hearstawards.org.


Contact:  Jan Watten, 415.908.4565