Hearst Multimedia Competition Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college multimedia were announced today in the 49th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.  This was the second annual Multimedia Competition in which 78 entrants from 47 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation participated.

First Place has been awarded to TRACY  KENNEDY, a freshman from Virginia CommonwealthUniversity.  She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her entry “Distracted Delegates” posted on Capital News Service.  Virginia Commonwealth University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalismdepartments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

TIM  HUSSIN, University of Florida, second place, $1,500 scholarship

KRISTA  SCHINAGL, Western Kentucky University, third place, $1,000 scholarship

ALI  TABATABAI,  San Francisco State University, fourth place, $750 scholarship

PHILIP  ANDREWS, Western Kentucky University, fifth place, $600 scholarship

ALEX  BLACKWELDER, Middle Tennessee State University, sixth place, $500 scholarship

KHARI  JOHNSON, San Francisco State University, seventh place, $500 scholarship

McKENNA  EWEN, University of Minnesota, eighth place, $500 scholarship

ASHLEY  P.  LAU, Northwestern University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

MICHAEL  CALCAGNO, University of Oregon, tenth place, $500 scholarship

Western Kentucky University was first place in the Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points in this competition.  They are followed by:  San Francisco State University; University of Florida (tie); Virginia Commonwealth University (tie);  Syracuse University;  MiddleTennessee State University (tie);  Northwestern University (tie);  University of Oklahoma; TempleUniversity (tie); University of Minnesota (tie).

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards more than $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the multimedia competition this year were:  Arthur S. Brisbane, ASB Consulting, East Dennis, MA;  Janet Reeves, Former Senior Editor/Photography and Multimedia, The Rocky Mountain News,Denver, CO;  Fred Young, Former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, New York,NY.

For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website.



Jan Watten, program director