Hearst Multimedia Competition I Winners Named



San Francisco – The top ten winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate. The category of this competition was Narrative Multimedia Storytelling – Features.

First Place has been awarded to JONATHAN KASBE, a junior from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Jonathan will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning multimedia piece titled “Make a noise if you can hear me” from Reese News. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Jonathan also qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship which takes place in San Francisco this June along with finalists in writing, photojournalism, radio and television broadcast.

Other multimedia top five scholarship winners are:

Second Place, $2,000 award, CAITLYN GREENE, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,500 award, ALEX PINES, Syracuse University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, MATT BUSCH, University of Missouri

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, BEN ZACK, University of Missouri

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, BETHANY MOLLENKOF, Western Kentucky University

Seventh Place, certificate, GREG LINDSTROM, University of Montana

Eighth Place, certificate, KAT RUSSELL, California State University, Northridge

Ninth Place, certificate, LESLYE DAVIS, Western Kentucky University

Tenth Place, certificate, PATRICK BREEN, University of Nebraska

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 52nd year also includes five writing contests, three broadcast news competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The Multimedia judges are: Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Jennifer Sizemore, VP/ Editor-in-Chief, Msnbc.om, Executive Producer, NBC News; and Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer, News, Innovations and Strategic Projects, The Washington Post, Arlington, VA.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points. It is followed by: University of Missouri; Western Kentucky University; University of Montana; Syracuse University; University of Nebraska; Louisiana State University; Arizona State University; California State University, Northridge; Pennsylvania State University. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top finalists’ winning work, view the monthly winners section of the web site.
Jan Watten, program director