Hearst Intercollegiate Competition Winners Named



SAN FRANCISCO – Eight universities shared prizes totaling $52,500 as this year’s winners of the Intercollegiate Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News Competitions of the annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The 2010-2011 prizes of $10,000, $5,000 and $2,500 are awarded to the top three universities in each division of the Intercollegiate Competitions, with the top ten of each category receiving Hearst medallions.  These awards were added to the Hearst Journalism Awards Program budget in 1990.

Often called “The Pulitzers of college journalism,” the Hearst program holds year-long competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia for journalism undergraduates.  Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned by their students in each category are designated the winners of the Intercollegiate Competitions.

The 2011 Intercollegiate Competition winners are:


$10,000   First Place                  INDIANA  UNIVERSITY

$ 5,000   Second Place              UNIVERSITY  OF  KANSAS

$ 2,500   Third Place                  UNIVERSITY  OF  IOWA


$10,000   First Place                  WESTERN  KENTUCKY  UNIVERSITY

$ 5,000   Second Place             UNIVERSITY  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA, CHAPEL HILL

$ 2,500   Third Place                  OHIO  UNIVERSITY


$10,000   First Place                  UNIVERSITY  OF  NEBRASKA – LINCOLN

$ 5,000   Second Place              UNIVERSITY  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA, CHAPEL HILL

$ 2,500   Third Place                  UNIVERSITY  OF  FLORIDA

The winners in each category will receive cash prizes and medallions during the National Championships in San Francisco at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation on Wednesday, June 8, 2011.  The Overall Intercollegiate winners, those schools with the highest combined student points from the monthly writing, photo, broadcast news and multimedia competitions, will also be announced at the Awards Presentation.

Writing medallions are awarded to: Pennsylvania State University, Fourth Place;  Arizona State University, Fifth Place; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Sixth Place; University of Missouri, Seventh Place; University of Montana, Eighth Place; University of Oregon, Ninth Place; Northwestern University, Tenth Place.

Photojournalism medallions are awarded to:  University of Florida, Fourth Place; Central Michigan University, Fifth Place;  University of Missouri, Sixth Place; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Seventh Place; Indiana University, Eighth Place; University of Montana, Ninth Place; San Francisco State University, Tenth Place.

Broadcast News medallions are awarded to: Syracuse University, Fourth Place; Brigham Young University, Fifth Place; Arizona State University, Sixth Place; Elon University, Seventh Place; University of Southern California, Eighth Place; University of Maryland, Ninth Place; West Virginia University, Tenth Place.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program operates under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.  It is fully funded and administered by The William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  Currently, 110 accredited undergraduate schools of journalism in the United States are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Publisher William Randolph Hearst established the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and The Hearst Foundation, Inc. in the 1940’s, a few years before his death in 1951.  Since then, the Foundations have awarded more than $809 million in grants and programs.  The Hearst Journalism Awards Program has awarded approximately $11 million in scholarships and matching grants to students and their universities since 1960.


Jan Watten, program director


#  #  #