Hearst In-Depth Writing Competition Winners named




San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college In-Depth writing were announced today in the 50thannual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduatejournalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to NATHAN  ROTT, of University of Montana. He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article “Beyond Reach” published in Empty Justice.  University ofMontana will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Nathan also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which will take place in New York City in June 2010.

Other top ten scholarship winners are:

ANDREW  MANNIX, University of Minnesota, second place, $1,500 scholarship

HAYLEY  PETERSON, University of Georgia, third place, $1,000 scholarship

DANIEL  VALENTINE, University of Iowa, fourth place, $750 scholarship

ANA  McKENZIE, University of Texas, Austin, fifth place, $600 scholarship

JEAN  GUERRERO, University of Southern California, sixth place, $500 scholarship

ANNA  ARCHIBALD, University of Kansas, seventh place, $500 scholarship

JONATHAN  J.  COOPER, Arizona State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

CJ  LOTZ, Indiana University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

PHILLIP  S.  LUCAS, Howard University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

Arizona State University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first three writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  Northwestern University; Indiana University; University of Georgia; University of Kentucky;University of Montana; University of Texas, Austin; University of Kansas; University of Iowa; University ofOregon.  The final winners will be announced after the completion of the six writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with Championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards more than $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor,Houston Chronicle, TX;  Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

89 students from 55 universities participated in the program’s third writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the Web site, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, program director