Hearst Broadcast Feature Competition Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists selected in the November Journalism Awards Program broadcast competition. The category for Competition One was Features.
The top five winners in both radio and television were selected from among 43 radio and 65 television entries submitted. These winners, along with the top five finalists from both categories in Competition Two, will submit additional tapes for a semi-final round of judging. Following the semi-final round of judging, five in radio and five in television will be chosen to compete in the program’s national broadcast news Championships in San Francisco, along with winners of the writing and photojournalism competitions.
The top five radio finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award, LAUREN BROOKMEYER, Hofstra University

Second Place, $1,500 award, JULIA L. RITCHEY, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,000 award, KIMBERLY J. SALTMARSH, Hofstra University

Fourth Place, $750 award, BRIAN HARDZINSKI, University of Oklahoma

Fifth Place, $600 award, MILES DORAN, University of Florida
The top six television * finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award, THOMAS HENDRICK, University of Colorado

Second Place, $1,500 award, ADAM J. MILLER, Northwestern University

Third Place, $1,000 award, JASON LAMB, University of Missouri

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, JUSTIN M. WEAVER, West Virginia University

Fifth Place, $600 award, ELEXANDER MICHAELSON, University of Southern California

Sixth Place, $500 award, BRITTANY JONES-COOPER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

* The fourth place winner in the TV competition, Justin Weaver, is a Spring 2007 graduate, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the championship round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the sixth place winner qualifies for the semi-final judging.
Other award winners in radio:

Sixth Place, $500 award, BENJAMIN B. YOUNGERMAN, Syracuse University

Seventh Place, $500 award, DAVID KLATT, Pennsylvania State University

Eighth Place, $500 award, NATALIE NEUMANN, University of Montana

Ninth Place, $500 award, LISA MATUSKA, Northwestern University

Tenth Place, $500 award, ADAM SWANK, Texas State University, San Marcos
Other award winners in television:
Seventh Place, $500 award, IRMA MURILLO, University of Miami

Eighth Place, $500 award, ASHLEY REYNOLDS DICKAMORE, University of Utah

Ninth Place, $500 award, MELISSA WELSH, University of Florida

Tenth Place, $500 award, JAMES EVERETTS, Kent State University
The schools of these award winning finalists receive matching grants.
These students placed among the top 20 in radio and will receive award certificates:

ERIC SCHAFFER, University of Maryland, eleventh place

SEAN POWERS, University of Missouri, twelfth place

ADAM CAVALIER, Marshall University, thirteenth place

KIMBERLY BURCHAM, Marshall University, fourteenth place-tie

SAM GAVIN, Arizona State University, fourteenth place-tie

DAN BOYCE, University of Montana, fourteenth place-tie

CRYSTAL GRANDISON, Elon University, seventeenth place-tie

TRAVIS LARCHUK, Pennsylvania State University, seventeenth place-tie

NATALIE WILSON, Howard University, nineteenth place

ADAM SHIVERS, University of Alabama, twentieth place-tie

MEGAN BOWERS, West Virginia University, twentieth place-tie


These students placed among the top 20 in television and will receive award certificates:

STEVE BUTERA, West Virginia University, eleventh place

PHILLIP ANAYA-DENNIS, New Mexico State University, twelfth place

SARAH E. CHAKALES, University of Southern Carolina, thirteenth place

MELISSA PAZORNIK, University of Southern California, fourteenth place

THERESA BOWMAN, Northwestern University, fifteenth place

ANDREW BOYLE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, sixteenth place

MARK OLEXIK, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, seventeenth place

ERIN MAHRER, University of Colorado, eighteenth place-tie

ALEXANDREA DENIS, University of South Florida, eighteenth place-tie

MARCO VILLARREAL, Brigham Young University, twentieth place-tie


Northwestern University placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first radio and television competitions. It is followed by: Hofstra University; West Virginia University; University of Missouri; University of Florida; University of Colorado; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Southern California; Syracuse University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The final winners (the top three of whom will collect $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively) will be named in April following Competition Two/News.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Fred Young, Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, New York, NY; Barbara Cochran, President, RTNDA, Washington, DC; and Michael Luckoff, President and General Manager, KGO AM Radio, Inc., San Francisco, CA.

The 2007-2008 broadcast news competitions are held in 108 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 48 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director