2019-20 Writing

2020 Writing Championship

From the 652 writing entries received in the five writing competitions held this year, the following finalists’ monthly competition articles were deemed the best. This work
qualified them as finalists in the 2020 Hearst National Writing Championship.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the in-person even slated for Houston, TX was replaced by a virtual competition. Finalists met their judges via video conference for orientation and a review of the assignments, then researched and wrote their articles from home.

The assignments:
A profile article of Harris County Judge Lina Hidaldo.
A new story from an hour-long interview with Ms. Hidalgo conducted via video conference.
A spot article about the impact the coronavirus pandemic has had on a segment of the arts and entertainment community.

The writing judges Audrey Cooper, Dwayne Bray and Larry Kramer chose the assignment, reviewed the work and selected the winners.

The first-through-third place winners were awarded scholarships of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000 respectively. The five finalists earned $1,500 scholarships.

In addition, two $1,000 scholarships were presented for Best Article of the Year and Best Reporting Technique from the monthly competition entries.

The winners and finalists are featured below.


Caroline Anders
First Place
Indiana University
$10,000 scholarship


Matt Cohen
Indiana University
$1,500 scholarship

Additional Awards

Hannah Denham
Article of the Year
Washington & Lee University
$1,000 scholarship