2019-20 Multimedia

2020 Multimedia Championship

This year marked the ninth Hearst National Multimedia Championship.

From the record 294 multimedia entries received in the four monthly competitions, five winners qualified for the Championship.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the in-person even slated for Houston, TX was replaced by a virtual competition.

The judges Brian Storm, Danese Kenon and Jarrad Henderson met the finalists via video conferencing for mentorship, a critique of a work-in-progress story and to review the spot assignment. The finalists then produced their Championship stories from home.

The assignment: “This is a significant story of our lifetime and has historical value. Tell us a story about your experience within your quarantine experience.”

The first-through-third place winners were awarded scholarships of $10,000, $7,500, and $5,000 respectively.

The finalists earned a $1,500 scholarship.

An additional $1,000 Multimedia Story of the Year Award was selected from the monthly competition entries.

The winners and finalists are featured below.


Jiakai Lou
First Place
University of Montana
$10,000 scholarship


Lucas Pruitt
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
$1,500 scholarship

Additional Award

Colin Davy
Multimedia Story of the Year
Syracuse University
$1,000 scholarship