2011 – 2012 Multimedia Winners

This was the second year of the multimedia Championship. From the 193 multimedia entries received in the four monthly competitions, five top winners qualified for the Championship in San Francisco.

The finalists arrived in the city on Monday, June 4th and immediately met with their judges to receive their assignment. They were asked to produce a 3-5 minute multimedia piece which addressed the issue of housing, its challenges and residents’ creative solutions to those challenges.

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Kelley King, Pennsylvania State University and Jonathan Reed from University of Alabama. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Zack Conkle, Western Kentucky University for Story of the Year selected from the monthly competition submissions.