2023-24 Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Personality/Profile Writing Competition of the 2023-2024 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 127 entries from 68 schools submitted in the fourth writing
competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Lucille Lannigan from University of Florida. Lucille will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “Moving forward through the rubble” published in Atrium Magazine.

Lucille is a May 2023 graduate and not eligible to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship. Second-place winner Nick Stonesifer, Pennsylvania State University qualifies for the Championship.
Nick will receive a $2,000 award for this winning article:

The other top finalists are:

Third place, $1,500 award, Lia Salvatierra, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Aryana Hadjimohammad, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Connor Smith, Syracuse University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Grace Smith, University of Iowa
Seventh Place, certificate, Esther Ju, University of Connecticut
Eighth Place, certificate, Carlton Gillespie, Florida International University
Ninth Place, certificate, Mason Thomas Edwards, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Tenth place, certificate, Yaw Bonsu, Hofstra University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the
highest accumulated student points from four of the five writing competitions held so far this year.

They are followed by: University of Florida; Drake University; Arizona State University; Indiana University;
San Francisco State University; University of Oregon; Pennsylvania State University; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; Syracuse University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate
winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May and presented during the National Championships in San Francisco this June.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Managing Editor/Vice President, The Star Tribune; Sue Campbell, Managing Editor, Features, The Star Tribune; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 64th year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two
television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.