2023-24 Hearst Investigative Reporting Individual/Team Winners Announced

San Francisco – Hearst Journalism Awards Program announces the winners in the Investigative Reporting
Individual or Team Competition of the 2023-2024 There were 72 entries from 43 schools submitted in the fifth and final writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to the team from Hampton University: Daelin Brown, Jordin Wright, Tigist Ashaka, Sherdell Baker, Sydney Broadnax, Noah Hogan, Mikayla Roberts.
They will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “In Portsmouth, a Superfund Site Pollutes a Creek, Threatens a Neighborhood and Defies a Quick Fix” published in Inside Climate News.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Keetra Bippus, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Meghan McGlone, University of Florida
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Alex Walters, Michigan State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Shane Connuck and Blake Townsend, University of Maryland

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Makenzie Christman, Michael Dimarsico and Lauren Haffner,
Pennsylvania State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Cole Pressler, California Polytechnic State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Kyle Ingram, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Jazz Wolfe, University of Oklahoma
Tenth Place, certificate, Joe Lister & Luke Vargas, Pennsylvania State University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the five writing competitions held this year.

They are followed by: University of Florida; Arizona State University; Pennsylvania State University; Drake
University; Indiana University; San Francisco State University; University of Oregon; University of Maryland;
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

These awards will be presented at the Intercollegiate Presentation during the National Championships in San Francisco on June 5.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Managing Editor/Vice President, The Star Tribune; Sue Campbell, Editorial
Director, AME/Features, The Star Tribune; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 64th year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with
accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.