2023-2024 Hearst Multimedia Digital News or Enterprise Story-Team Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Digital News or Enterprise Story Team Competition of the 2023-2024 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 88 entries from 44
schools submitted in the third multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Jennifer Tran, Angelina Katsanis, Heather Diehl, Lucas Thomas, Caleb Sigmon, Bella Cankurtaran, from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The team will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning piece “Road to Recovery: How one organization is working to address Puerto Rico’s worsening opioid crisis” published in Isla de Fuerza.

Second place, $2,000 award, Gerard Millman, Preston Fore, Lauren Cmiel, Dylan Thiessen, Clara Mello, Jacob Turner, Yondy Agosto García, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Third place, $1,500 award, Arthur H. Trickett-Wilde and Allie Schallert, Western Kentucky University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Gabi Broekema and Anna Leachman, Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Kat Fulwider and Ariana Brockman, University of Nevada, Reno

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, Cal Tuttle, Andre Lacy, James Potts, Hannah Schrachta, Jacob Wilt, Ronald Todd, Taylor Thompson, Daniel Thomas, Johnny Hill, Hannah Bitzer, Greta Hellmann, BJ Gibbs, Turner Schneider, University of Memphis

Seventh Place, Kayla Mae Jackson and Denzen Cortez, Arizona State University

Eighth Place, certificate, Anjelica Rubin and Olivia Estright, Pennsylvania State University

Ninth Place, Cara Penquite, Jacob Luebbert, Allie Santini, Caroline Larson, Nick Sheaffer, Ellie Frysztak, Bailey Stover, Kate Cassady, Josh Stotler, Tre Kent, Ben Koelkebeck, Torryianna Miller, Austin Johnson, Caroline McCone, University of Missouri

Tenth Place, Griffen Smith, Ridley Hudson, Nance Beston, Dylan Fullerton, Chloe Olsgaard, Josh Moyar, Alex Mitchell, Haley Yarborough, Kai Williams, Aislin Tweedy, Andy Mepham, Kaden Harrison, Kennedy Delap, Chris Lodman, Tanner Ecker, Griffin Ziegert, Nate Sanchez, McKenna Johnson, University of Montana

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Hussman School of Journalism and Media has won the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the four multimedia competitions held this year. They are followed by: Western Kentucky University; Syracuse University; University of Florida; University of Nevada, Reno; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; Stony Brook University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The multimedia judges are: Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios; Danese Kenon, Managing Editor of Visuals, Philadelphia Inquirer; Robert Scheer, Deputy Managing Editor for Visuals, The Post and Courier.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 64th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010.
The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.