2022-23 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Feature Writing Competition of the
 2022-2023 Hearst
Journalism Awards Program. There were 150 entries from 82 schools submitted in the first writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Eli Hoff, a senior from University of Missouri.
Eli will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “’No other option’: Afghans put trust in strangers from Missouri before harrowing escape to safety.” Eli also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing
Championship which will be held in June 2023.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Clarise Larson, University of Montana
Third place, $1,500 award, Anjelica Singer, Pennsylvania State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Brianna Hatch, Washington & Lee University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ella McCarthy, University of Missouri

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Carson TerBush, Indiana University
Seventh Place, certificate, CJ Younger, Drake University
Eighth Place, certificate, Nyah Phengsitthy, Elon University
Ninth Place, certificate, Saskia Hatvany, San Francisco State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Audrey Johnson, University of North Alabama

The University of Missouri is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first writing competition of the year.
 They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; University of North Alabama; University of Montana; New York University; Washington & Lee University; Indiana University; Drake University (tie); Elon University (tie); San Francisco State University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate
winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Executive Editor, The Houston Chronicle; Sue Campbell, Editorial Director, AME/Features, Star Tribune Magazine; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 63rd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two
television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with
accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.