2022-23 Hearst Explanatory Reporting Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Explanatory Reporting Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

There were 129 entries from 68 schools submitted in the second writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Rachel Crumpler, a May 2022 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Rachel receives a $3,000 scholarship for the article “‘Shots fired, shots fired! We need to go into
lockdown!” published in Media Hub. Per program guidelines, Rachel is not eligible for the Championship due to her graduation status.

Second place is awarded to Jade Campos from Pennsylvania State University who receives a $2,000 scholarship. Jade is also a May 2022 graduate and thus not eligible for the Championship. Click here to read Jade’s winning

Third-place winner Katie Delk, a senior from University of Florida wins a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Championship in June 2023.

The other top finalists are:
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Mary Claire Molloy, Indiana University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Rory Pelella, Pennsylvania State University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Mason Young, University of Oklahoma
Seventh Place, certificate, Cami Parrish, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Sudeep Tumma, Oklahoma State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Sydney Gold, Syracuse University
Tenth Place, certificate, Rachel Cohen, New York University

Pennsylvania State University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the two writing of the five writing competitions held this year.
They are followed by: University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Indiana University; University of Florida; New York University; University of Montana; Arizona State University; University of North Alabama; Washington & Lee University (tie); Temple University (tie).

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final
intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May. The awards will be presented during the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation during the National Championships in June.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Executive Editor, The Houston Chronicle; Sue Campbell, Editorial Director, AME/Features, Star Tribune Magazine; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 63rd year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with
accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.