2022-23 Hearst Audio News/Features Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s Audio News/Features Competition. The top five audio winners qualify for the National Championships, along with
qualifying television, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists. There were 65 entries from 41 universities submitted in this competition.

The top audio winners who qualify for the 2023 National Audio Championship this June are:

First Place, $3,000 award, Hallie Gutzwiller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Second Place, $2,000 award, Sophie Mallinson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Brianna Atkinson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, John Perik, Syracuse University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Briana Heaney, University of Missouri
The schools of the top five award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Yaw Bonsu, Hofstra University
Seventh Place, certificate, Madison Holcomb, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Eighth Place, certificate, Holly Fischer, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ninth Place, certificate, Athena Ankrah, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Jaedyn Young, University of Nevada, Reno

Syracuse University is currently first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the Audio and TV I Competitions. The final intercollegiate winners will be
announced after the TV II Competition in May. The top three winning schools earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000
respectively which will be presented during the National Championships in June.

Syracuse University is followed by: University of Florida, University of Missouri, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Arizona State University; University of Oklahoma; Hofstra University; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Pennsylvania State University.

The audio competition judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC.

The 63rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the monthly competitions in 1988. The Award Program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions
offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. There are 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism
programs eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

# # #