2021 Hearst Audio News & Features Winners Announced

San Francisco – The Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2020-2021 Journalism Awards Program’s Audio News and Features competition. The top radio winners qualify for the National
Championship, held this June, along with qualifying television, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists. 55 entries from 36 universities were submitted in this competition.

The top audio winners who qualify for the National Championship:
First Place, $3,000 award, Caleb Suggs, University of Memphis
Second Place, $2,000 award, Jaeha Joshua Chang, University of Southern California
Third Place, $1,500 award, Natalie Saenz, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Charlotte Ix, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Emma VandenEinde, Arizona State University

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.
Audio Finalists:
Sixth Place, Certificate, Hannah Bullard, Murray State University
Seventh Place, Certificate, Tina Turner, University of Alabama
Eighth Place, Certificate, Anthony Montalto, University of Florida
Ninth Place, Certificate, Eli Finkelson, Hofstra University
Tenth Place, Certificate, Dominique Lavigne, University of Texas at Austin

University of Florida has placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the Audio and TV 1 Competitions.
They are followed by: University of Texas at Austin; Michigan State University; Syracuse University; Murray State University; Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Howard University (tie); University of Memphis (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie).
Final intercollegiate scores will be announced after the TV 2 competition has been finalized. The top three winning schools earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The audio competition judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television, NY; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio, CA; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensem & Rovitto LLC, PA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program also includes five writing, one audio, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The 61st annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.