2018-19 Hearst Television I Winners Named

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 107 entries submitted from 60 schools nationwide. The first-place winner
qualifies for the National Television Championship which will be held in San Francisco next June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists in the next television competition will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Four finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the
Championship, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists.

First Place has been awarded to Grace King from University of Florida. Grace wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the Championship.

The top ten finalists and their awards are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Lydia Nusbaum, University of Missouri
Third Place, $1,500 award, Matt Lively, Arizona State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Meredith Sheldon, University Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Claire Going, Pennsylvania State University
Sixth Place, certificate, Claire Kopsky, University of Missouri
Seventh Place, certificate, Tom Austen, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, certificate, Payton Walker, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Lillian Donahue, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Kristen Rary, University of Georgia
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The four finalists in bold qualify for the semi-final round. The remaining finalists in the top five graduated in spring 2018, and per program guidelines, may not participate in the semi-finals.

University of Florida is in first place in the intercollegiate broadcast competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first television competition.

It is followed by: University of Missouri; Arizona State University; Syracuse University; Pennsylvania State
University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Baylor University; Michigan State University; University of Maryland; University of Georgia. The final intercollegiate broadcast winners are announced after the completion of the radio competition and the second television competition.
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The television judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, Los Angeles, CA; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 59th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988.
The program also includes five writing, one radio, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 universities of the Association of Schools of
Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.